Brownies

Ultimate Brownie Cake

IMG_4593

I asked what type of birthday cake my friend wanted for her birthday.  After contemplating for sometime, she came to the conclusion of a brownie cake.  Now this couldn’t have been just any brownie cake, it had to be the best brownie cake ever!

While watching Ina Garten on the Barefoot Contessa, I knew just what recipe to use.  It was her outrageous brownies recipe.  It looked incredible, and had the most important ingredient, CHOCOLATE.  So here was my attempt at her brownies.  I used my buttercream frosting between the layers and on top.  I also decided to get decoration happy by adding shredded coconut and shaved chocolate in between the layers and on top.  Lets just say, I almost died and gone to chocolate heaven.  My roommate and I decided that it needed the frosting in order to actually finish the entire slice.  Lets just say that it was a head rush of sugary goodness.

IMG_4572

There are A LOT of nuts in this cake.  I personally love brownies with nuts in them, but I’m sure that you could leave them out of the recipe if you wanted too.  Next time I may get fancy and change my nuts type to pistachios, but that is just a thought.  I used the chocolate bars instead of chocolate chips because the measurement made me a little confused and I liked how the chocolate bars looked as opposed to the chocolate chips.  You may have extra batter than needed to fill the cake pans.  You could decide what to do with it, maybe make another later, fill a little brownie pan with the rest, or eat it raw like Susan does :).

Oh and in case you didn’t realize, this recipe makes 2 cakes!!! I used one for my friends birthday and saved the other one.  If you want to you could cut the recipe in half, but then its just not as fun!!

For the decorations, I used coconut and shaved chocolate.  Added a little class and a little style ;).

IMG_4603

In terms of storage, what my roommate and I did was leave it out covered in plastic wrap.  I am sure that you could also put it in an air tight container, or even in the refrigerator (the sounds of it cold sounds really yummy for some reason).   I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1 lb (4 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1 lb plus 12-oz semisweet chocolate chips
  • 6-oz unsweetened chocolate
  • 6 x-large eggs
  • 3 Tbsp. instant coffee granules
  • 2 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 2 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 cups chopped walnuts
  • Double the recipe of my Buttercream Frosting (From Dora Birthday Cupcakes)
  • Coconut, optional
  • 1 square of a semi-sweet chocolate baking bar, optional

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F*.  Butter and flour 4 9-inch cake pans.
  2. Melt together the butter, 1-lb of chocolate chips, and the unsweetened chocolate in a medium bowl over simmering water. Allow to cool slightly.
  3. In a large bowl, stir (do not beat) together the eggs, coffee granules, vanilla, and sugar. Stir the warm chocolate mixture into the egg mixture and allow to cool to room temperature.
  4. In a medium bowl, sift together 1 cup of flour, the baking powder, and salt. Add to the cooled chocolate mixture. Toss the walnuts and 12 ounces of chocolate chips in a medium bowl with 1/4 cup of flour, then add them to the chocolate batter. Pour into the baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 20-min, then rap the baking sheet against the oven shelf to force the air to escape from between the pan and the brownie dough. Bake for about 15-min, until a toothpick comes out clean. Do not overbake! Allow to cool thoroughly, refrigerate.
  6. Take out the brownie cake from the pan and place them on separate plates.
  7. Make the my buttercream frosting (located on the dora birthday cupcake post).
  8. On one layer of brownie cake, spread half of the frosting.  Top with some of the coconut.
  9. Top with the last layer of brownie cake, frosting, and coconut (I put the coconut around the sides of the top layer).  Take a peeler and peel the chocolate bar in order to create shreds.  In the middle of the cake, place the rest of the chopped walnuts (if you have any, if not, then fill the whole top with coconut).
  10. Enjoy!

IMG_4610

Notes

*Times and temperatures always vary depending upon your oven.  Personally, whenever I bake, I have to always decrease the temperature by 25°F.

Recipe was slightly altered.

Recipe Source: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/outrageous-brownies-recipe3/index.html?oc=linkback

 

3 thoughts on “Ultimate Brownie Cake

Leave a Reply

