Cakes

Fancy Strawberry Shortcake

IMG_5052

This was one of my first recipes that I have made since I have been home from school.  It is also one of my favorites and one of my family favorites.  I found it while searching through so many different Strawberry Shortcake recipes on Google.  Ever since I started making the recipe, I have been coming up with new ways to present each of the cake layers and ingredients.  I first made this cake with my nieces and nephew.  My one niece loved it so much that she said she wanted it for her next birthday (I didn’t actually do this because a bunch of 5 year olds probably won’t all enjoy a “fancy” cake, and cute decorations don’t really go with it).

IMG_5131

The strawberry filling recipe tends to change from cake to cake for me.  Sometimes I mash the strawberries at the beginning, sometimes at the end, I sometimes add fresh sliced strawberries once the filling is cooked, sometimes I place freshly sliced strawberries on top of the filling (during assembly).  The possibilities are endless and the best judgement is the baker.  In terms of the frozen vs. fresh battle, I have always used fresh strawberries, but I am sure that frozen will work well too.  I would just let them thaw out for a bit before you cook them in the cornstarch mixture.

IMG_5053

I tend to always double the whipped cream recipe to just have extra because it is AWESOME! I also double the strawberry filling because I always have more strawberries than I need.

I plan on mixing this cake up a little bit next time by making a blueberry filling instead of a strawberry filling.  My parents anniversary is coming up and I know my dad loves blueberries and my mom loves the cake, so why not try a new attempt?

IMG_5138

Ingredients

White Cake

  • 2 large eggs, separated
  • 1 3/4 cups sifted cake flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup sugar, divided (1/4 cup plus 3/4 cup)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/8 tsp. cream of tartar

Strawberry Filling

  • 1 pt. strawberries
  • 1 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 tsp. cornstarch
  • 3 Tbsp. water

Whipped Cream Frosting

  • 1 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

White Cake

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F*.  Grease and flour 2 8-in round cake pans.
  2. Sift or whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together in a medium bowl.  Set aside.
  3. Beat the egg whites in an electric mixer (a hand mixer is okay too) until they are foamy (I use the whisk attachment).  Add the cream of tartar and continue to beat the egg whites until soft peak form.  Slowly add the 1/4 cup of sugar and continue to beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form.  Set this bowl aside.
  4. In another bowl, beat the butter until soft.  Add the 3/4 cup of sugar and beat until light and fluffy.  Add egg yolks, one at a time.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Add the vanilla and beat until combined.  Slowly add the flour mixture and milk mixture alternately (flour, milk, flour, milk, flour).
  5. Carefully fold the egg whites into the batter.  DO NOT overmix.
  6. Divide the batter evenly between the 2 pans.
  7. Bake for 20-25 mins., or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Strawberry Filling

  1. While the cake is cooking, make the strawberry filling.
  2. Place all of the ingredients together in a small saucepan.
  3. Take a hand masher, or a fork, and mash the strawberries into the mixture (It doesn’t have to be completely mashed, just make sure to break down some of the strawberries).
  4. Place the mixture on the stove over medium-low heat.
  5. Bring the mixture to a nice simmer, mixing at times.
  6. The mixture should come together and get really thick.  Once this happens, take it off of the heat and place in a heat proof bowl (I use a glass measuring cup).
  7. Place the filling in the refrigerator until you are ready to use it.

Whipped Cream

  1. Place the bowl of the mixer (or whatever you plan on making the whipped cream in) into the freezer for about 10 minutes.
  2. Remove the bowl and pour in the cold heavy cream into the bowl.  Using the whisk attachment, beat the cream until it starts to thicken.
  3. Slowly add the powdered sugar and the vanilla extract.  Continue to beat until soft peaks form.  DO NOT OVER MIX!

Assembly

  1. Place the first layer of cake on the bottom of the cake plate.  Spread most of, if not all, of the strawberry filling over the first layer.  I like to add all of it and have it drip/pour off out of the sides of the cake.
  2. Top the first layer with the second layer of cake.
  3. “Plop” the whipped cream on the top layer.  Spread it to the ends of the top layer of the cake.  I don’t coat the sides because I like how the cake looks with the whipped cream only on top.
  4. Place fresh cut strawberries on the top of the whipped cream and ENJOY!!

IMG_5107

IMG_5056

Notes

*Times and temperatures always vary depending upon your oven.  Personally, whenever I bake, I have to always decrease the temperature by 25°F.

Recipe was slightly altered.

Recipe Source: http://www.glorioustreats.com/2011/05/strawberry-shortcake-cake.html

One thought on “Fancy Strawberry Shortcake

Leave a Reply

